See Ara B’s full apology to Shatta Michy

arabslide

Dancehall prince Ara B has apologized to Shatta Michy, wife of Shatta Wale, after his outburst against them early this week. Ara B who was held in police custody after his outburst was released yesterday and has been posting reconciliatory messages on his Facebook page.

Read his apology to Shatta Michy:

On Monday January 30th 2017, my residence was besieged by unknown goons around midnight after my unfortunate comments in response to Shatta Michy’s alusive snap chat post.
Out of anguish, internal and external factors and disposition; I made certain insinuations and remarks which I find regrettable and unwarranted. I’m using this medium through which I previously employed to make derogatory comments about Shatta Michy to apologise unreservedly to her, her family and her fans. I hope you would forgive me for my momentary lapse in judgment.
I am a firm believer in gender equality and in no way should my earlier comments be misconstrued as an attack on the feminine persuasion; such comments are unjust regardless of whichever gender or sex it is directed to.
As mortals, we do find ourselves in situations of anguish; a state that I now believe should be addressed in a better way. What makes us human is our ability to point out the wrongs, not only in our fellow brothers but in ourselves and publicly do so. I am of my own volition to say I am indeed sorry.
I began music ten years ago at a time when parents would disown us, the public would disregard you and treat you as an outcast simply because you’ve chosen music as a way of life and career path. Many friends we started with; some gave up, died, and had to change their choice of career due to society’s pressure …..Others made it, other still struggling…..alliances and friendships forged, alliances and friendships broken…..a tumultuous journey many can relate.
Hours on end in search of funds to settle studio session payment, ‘payola’ and airtime for our craft to be heard.
Today the industry is more streamlined and robust than before although there is much more room for improvement such as more work to be done in areas of welfare and commercial aspect of my fellow craftsmen.
In short, I have been there and seen it. My derogatory comments had no relation to the craft that we all have sworn to as our career choice and my apology is a genuine one and I sincerely hope that as musicians and people in this industry we would strive as one to see this industry thrive for this generation and posterity.
Again my apologies to Shatta Michy, her family, her fans, people that I respect, my loyal fans as well as family.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment